Introductory Post

I should start by introducing myself. My name is Louise and I am currently in second year studying Sociology & Social Policy at the University of Southampton. I’m on my #UOSM2008 journey and I hope that all my readers enjoy it as much as I will. Just for some more information, here are a few questions & answers and a self test about myself you might want to know!

PART 1: Q&A

Q1 Why did you choose the module?

I want to learn about digital marketing and this module is the best introduction to the benefits of having online presence and how to create one.

Q2 What in particular do you want to learn from the module?

There are a few things I want to learn. The first is, essentially, how to use a blog! Recently there have been a lot of “blogger personalities” who have built their whole careers around using a blog and reaching a dedicated audience. I enjoy reading blogs myself and I’m excited to have the chance to make my own. As I have also mentioned, I’ve developed an interest in digital marketing which stemmed from a recent internship I did which involved working in trademarking, and would like learn about how to make use of all the platforms available online.

Q3 Which degree programme are you studying?

BSc Sociology & Social Policy

Q4 Have you studied online before?

No this is my first time, and I’m looking forward to the experience.

PART 2: MY SELF TEST

Rating at start of module Comments
Accessing, managing and evaluating online information 3 From my experiences studying my degree, I’ve developed a good amount of experience in doing research and evaluating the reliability of online sources.
Participating in online communities 1 Although I have a decent social network presence (e.g. Facebook, Snapchat and Instagram), I mostly use them to browse, so I would like to become more of a participant on these and other forums.
Building online networks around an area of interest 1 Starting this blog is the first time I’ve built or been a part of an online network around any area of interest or research. This is definitely a skill which I think will be useful.
Collaborating with others on shared projects 1 With the modules I have done as part of my degree thus far, I haven’t had many opportunities to do engage in group work.
Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video) 2 Most of my experiences with the creation of online material has come during high school and internships, where I’ve developed flow charts, posters and some very short videos.
Managing your online identity 2 I’d say that my online identity, though I haven’t got a large online presence, is managed quite well in terms of how frequently I use it and what I post. That being said, my aim is still to develop a more organised online presence.
Managing your online privacy and security 3 I would say my online privacy and security is quite proficient. All the accounts I have are set as private and some can’t even be searched by name.
Leave a Reply

